Strengthened and Upheld

If you are reading this then you are currently alive and therefore you are participating in a wonderful thing called “life”. Life is something that is not sure; it is a “force” that keeps moving. There is very little that we can control.

I am a little bit of a stereotypical child. I like to have control (just ask my siblings). I like to plan things out, I like to know what I am doing (sometimes weeks in advance), and I do not like change or deviations from the plans. Now over the years I have learned to adapt and go with the flow, but I still do not always like the unknown, and in some instances I end up worrying.

Coming to France has been a challenge for me in the worry department. In my head I know that God is my provider, he knows what I need (Matthew 6:31-32), but it is very hard to surrender to him my worries. Because he is my Father, he will always provide for me. “The Lord is my portion,” says my soul, “therefore I will hope in him.” (Lamentations 3:24) It is very easy to worry and be afraid of the unknown, but I continue to remind myself that I am here because this is where God has called me to be here; therefore, he will provide for me and when I am unsure, tired, or fearful. He will strengthen me and uphold me (Isaiah 41:10, Isaiah 40:29-31) because he wants me to succeed in the plans he has purposed for me.

God doesn’t like to make things complicated (he wants children to understand him, remember that.) He does create things to work in an intricate complicated fashion (ask any guy who has ever talked to a woman), but he has made our job quite simple: trust Me, seek Me, surrender to Me. As a concept these are pretty simple (NOT easy, simple).

(Isaiah 12:2, Colossians 3:1-2, 1 Peter 5:7)

God wants us to succeed in the plan he has for us; he gives us all that we need for today. Because tomorrow is uncertain (no matter how much we decide to plan it out), God, our Father, has asked us to simply be concerned with the present. He holds our tomorrow, but we know that we have right now.

Matthew 6:26

“Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are?” (Matthew 6:26) I love that last question, “And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are?” Birds are only concerned with surviving. They don’t have the ability to worry, they aren’t aware of the future, just the present. But there we see the provision of God. He who cares for the birds will care for you. God knows all of our needs, he knows that we worry, we fear, we desire security, and he says that he will provide (Philippians 4:19).

So in moments when we feel worried about the future, when we have fear because of the unknown, or if we become tired of going, he is there. He will strengthen you, he will uphold you, and he will be your help. Surrender everything to God, seek his will, and keep moving forward; living in the present and looking to the future knowing that he who created you is able.

Romans 8:31

… I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you… (Isaiah 41:10)

Leave a Reply

