Giving thanks

This week is American Thanksgiving! It is a time of turkey, pie, family dinner, and Black Friday shopping. Some may go around the table and ask each other what they are most thankful for – some won’t. The last few days in my bible readings there have been many verses with the word “thank”.

(1 Chronicles 29:13)

HPIM5915
Thanksgiving in France

(2 Corinthians 9:15)

(Psalm 9:1, 107:8)

(1 Corinthians 15:57)

(1 Timothy 1:12)

I could go on and on with scriptures, but I feel like you get the idea. There are a lot of moments where people give thanks to God. For myself, I notice that there are two main types of “thanks” that I give to God.

  1. I give thanks to God for what he has done/doing.

When I talk with God I like to consciously thank him for the past, and not necessarily for all the specific events that I have lived through, but I thank him for what he has done in my life. When I look back I see the hand of God in my life, and when I thank him for the past I thank him for his faithfulness. Even though he doesn’t always answer me the way I would like I can still thank him for hearing my prayers and for working in my life, through my doubts and fears. And by thanking him for what he has done I humble myself and give him the credit. When I thank God for what he is doing it is a form of reassurance. I am reminding myself that God is faithful and that he is able; I know this because of what he has shown me in the past.

  1. I give thanks to God for who he is.

Thank you that You are my provider, that You are my healer, etc. God has given himself (and Jesus) many names. This reveals his ability to fit into every part of our lives. He is not only God, but he is our Father, Jesus is the Prince of Peace, etc. It gives me reassurance and comfort to know that he is my provider, he is my counselor, and he is my rock. When I continue to recognize and thank God for who he is I begin to see him as bigger than anything that is happening around me. He doesn’t become Lord over part of my life, but all aspects of my life.

Giving thanks to God is a way of worshipping him, a way to elevate him above me. I thank him joyfully because he is faithful. He never abandons me.

(Psalm 100)

One thought on “Giving thanks

Leave a Reply

