Together

God created us to be relational beings. (Genesis 2:7, 18-23) I never noticed that before creating Eve God had Adam go through all the animals that had been created to see if any one of them would have been a good friend and helper for Adam. But none of the animals would suffice. I find it rather interesting that God didn’t see himself as a relatable enough companion for Adam.

This kind of reminds me of a movie that I watch every year around Christmas time. It is an old classic Rankin Bass stop motion animation movie called Jack Frost. In the movie Jack Frost is sad because he wants to be loved, and the only way he thinks that he will find love is by becoming human. There is a song from this film that I would like to draw special attention to and that would be “It’s Lonely Being One of a Kind.” In this song Frost expresses his loneliness because there was no one else created like him.

The happiness of being me
Is not what it’s cracked up to be
It’s lonely being one of a kind.

In this film, Frost doesn’t live all alone, there are many others who live in the clouds, but his problem was that there was no one else created like him.

It is amazing how God realized that Adam needed someone like him (obviously not the exact same) to be a helper and friend. God is on a different level than us, since he is, well, God. Because of that difference God knew that we would need someone who we could relate to, this idea was manifested when Jesus came to earth.

One name that Jesus was given was Immanuel, which means God with us. God’s plan to redeem our relationship with him was to send his son in a form that we could relate to, yet Jesus was still God (John 1:1, 14). Jesus was born into the world just like everyone else who has lived, he grew up and faced the challenges that we do. Everything about him was human, except that his father was God (and still is.) God cared for us so much that he was willing to part with his son, have him come to us in human form, and in the end die so that we could live eternally with the Father.

King Solomon talks about friendship in Ecclesiastes 4:9-10. In these verses he tells us that physically it is better to have a friend, but really this applies to most aspects of our life. When we walk physically alone, like in the verse, there is no one there to help pick us up when we fall. In the same way if we walk spiritually alone then when we are having troubles with our faith there is no one there to help and support us. In this way, if we have a close friend (or friends) when I feel low in my faith (hopefully) they can encourage me and lift me up in my faith, and then when they feel low I can do the same.

“And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.” (Hebrews 10:24-25)

Communities have a very important purpose: there purpose is to encourage, to love, and push each other to do good works. I have been fortunate with the community that has been built around me here at DÉFI. There have been moments where I needed encouragement and there were many people in my DÉFI family who were ready and willing to lift me up, show me love, and provoke me to keep going. These would have been very different months if there had not been this community around me.

IMG_1162.jpg
Most of my DÉFI family

God cares about our relationships. He created us to desire relationships and fellowship. He cared enough about Adam’s happiness that he created a helper for him who he could relate to. Even after Adam and Eve sinned God still wanted to have a relationship with us, so he sent his son to earth to live as us to relate to us. He gave Solomon wisdom and through that we know that having a friend is very beneficial because we need someone to lift us up sometimes. And lastly God calls us to be in community with each other to provoke each other to love and good works, and to encourage each other.

2 thoughts on “Together

  1. Excellent insight and very thought provoking blog Camilla. The only thoughts I would add is that not only was God Jesus’ father but Jesus was God. The trinity is not the easiest idea to express but it is the very foundation of christianity. What I’m trying to say is that in John 1:1 it says, “In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was God” and in John 1:14 it goes on to say that “the Word became flesh and dwelt among us”. So with Jesus being God and His father being God it can seem even more unrelatable. 🙂

    I’m confident God know my needs even more than I myself know. I’m so grateful for your DÉFI family and look forward to the next part of your journey.

    Like

    1. Thank you 🙂 the trinity is a hard concept to describe, but you are most certainly correct about Jesus being both the son of God and God. John 1 is the perfect way of summing it up 🙂 Thank you for that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

