A time of giving

“Each one must give as he has decided in his heart, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.” 2 Corinthians 9:7

Only one week until Christmas! I am so excited. It has been a great experience being in Europe for this season (I love going to all the Christmas markets.) I miss my family, but I am very thankful and blessed that I am able to spend this season with friends.

One of my favourite parts about Christmas are the gifts. Now I like receiving gifts just as much as the next person, but when I say that the gifts are one of my favourite parts I’m talking about giving them. I can remember being about 5 (somewhere around there) when I started making gifts for my family. I would take baby food jars and put cheerios in them to make maracas, or make what I called paper sandwiches (which was a bunch of glue and a pile of paper all piled together.) Then I reached the age of about 10 that is when I started going to the dollar store and purchasing gifts for my family. I was so happy to finally be able to buy gifts for them! And now I’m 20 and I buy slightly more expensive and better quality than the dollar store gifts. And no matter how many times my parents tell me that it is unnecessary to buy gifts for them I can’t stop, why? Because I love blessing people and one way I do that is through gifts.

1545_1074403981807_6831_n
Even socks are a great gift!

Now gifts don’t need to be expensive. I mean sadly I don’t have a million dollars; hence I can’t buy a Lamborghini for my dad for Christmas (I don’t actually think that’s his dream car I just picked an expensive name.) I think most of us realize that gifts are not always monetary and aren’t always expensive, in short, I feel like most of us understand what a gift is, so that is not what this post is about. I want to talk about the purposes of giving.

“He who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will supply and multiply your seed for sowing and increase the harvest of your righteousness.” 2 Corinthians 9:10

Giving is not supposed to be a one-time thing. When we are able to bless people through our generosity we fill their “cup”, so in turn they can fill the “cup” of the next person. It is important to fill each other’s “cup” so that we can continue to pour, and not run dry. (Hebrews 10:24) Giving is meant to be a blessing. We are meant to give so that we can bring each other joy. For example no one wants to be around Scrooge (from a Christmas Carol) because he is so selfish and stingy. People want to be around those who are generous, those who bring joy. This joy originates from the blessings of God to us. God fills our cup so that we can pour out to others.

Giving is supposed to change my focus from me to God. I think sometimes when we give we don’t always feel like we are in the best place to give. Maybe money is tight, or you don’t have a lot yourself, or whatever else is of concern. But if you feel a strong conviction to give then there should be no hesitation. As I have reminded myself many times, God knows my needs and will provide for me, if he tells me to give, and I do, my focus changes on my ability to provide for myself to his ability to provide for me. (2 Corinthians 8:1-5, Matthew 6:32-33) Nothing is forever on this earth, so there is no reason to hold onto what is in the world. (1 John 2:17)

At this time of year we are reminded of the greatest gift of all – Jesus. Who was given to us by our greatest gift giver, God. God gave us Jesus when we didn’t deserve him. Jesus is a gift that we continually need to share, he is the gift that reminds us that we are not sufficient to save ourselves, but that God is. Jesus was the sacrificial gift for all who wish to receive him: not given because of anything we have done, but because of the grace and the generous heart of God. (Ephesians 2:8-9)

(2 Corinthians 9:6)

“Each one must give as he has decided in his heart, not reluctantly or under compulsion, for God loves a cheerful giver.” 2 Corinthians 9:7

Merry Christmas !

2 thoughts on “A time of giving

    1. Camila you thoughts are encouraging. We know God loves a cheerful giver and it is so good to be reminded of this. It is very encouraging to see God working in you life, and drawing you closer to him, and making him your strength. What else can I say other than to know that God is watching over you, and that you are learning more to trust him and to know he is guiding you, and loves you. Jeremiah 17:7-8 Jeremiah 29:11 and most recently Isaiah 58:11 have been real anchoring verses for me. The life of Joseph, and Philippians 1:6. To name a few. Merry Christmas and God’s richest blessings as you journey away from home
      Lv uncle Kevin and Auntie Anita

      Like

Leave a Reply

