Victory

In bible school we sang the song “Les océans” by Julien Adam. This is a great song and I always enjoyed singing it at bible school. However, it wasn’t until recently that I actually took the time to reflect upon the words of the song.

Verse 1:

L’ombre et la peur peuvent m’entourer,
Shadows and fears can surround me
Les éléments se déchaîner,
The elements run wild
Le Dieu de victoire se bat pour moi, pour me délivrer.
The God of victory fights for me, to deliver me.

We live in a world that is full of darkness, fear, and pain: these things bombard us on a daily basis. It is so easy to allow them to dwell inside us, but we need to focus on the Light, the victor. So the shadows, fear, and elements can surround me and be out of control, but I know that the God of victory fights for me. He has already won, so I have no reason to fear the outcome (I know what it is!)
(Psalm 119:105, 1 Corinthians 15:57, Deuteronomy 3:22)

Verse 2:

Rien ne saura lui résister,
Nothing will resist him.
Rien ne pourra le faire plier,
Nothing will make him bend.
Le Dieu de victoire a pris la croix et l’a terrassée.
The God of victory took the cross and was struck down.

Sometimes I forget who God is. I forget that he is I am. That no matter what happens he will not grow weary, no matter how impossible he says look at me. The laws of this earth do not bind him. So when I say, “this is impossible” he says, “I am. With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” (Exodus 3:14-15, Matthew 19:26) I know that God will not weaken, his passion for me, to save me, to strengthen me, continues: it didn’t end at the cross. (Isaiah 40:25-29)

Verse 3:

Les océans peuvent s’agiter,
The oceans can move
Leurs vagues sur ma vie se briser,
Their waves break over my life
Le Dieu de victoire élève sa voix pour tout apaiser.
The God of victory raises his voice to calm all

Mark 4:35-40

We don’t always see what God is doing, so many times it is so easy to have fear. All we see are the waves mounting. When looking up at the waves they seem very big, but have you ever been in a plane and looked down? Everything that we once thought were big look much smaller. God is looking down and when he sees the waves he laughs and says, “I’m bigger! Trust me.”

29800_1428604884894_3190754_n
Isaiah 55:8-9

I need to remind myself that he is bigger and that he is all-powerful. Creation listens to his voice. Three words and the storm was quieted. So the waves can come because I know that God calms the storms and he is not overcome by the storms.

Chorus:

Le Dieu de victoire est à mes côtés,
The God of victory is at my side
Sa main me soutient au cœur du danger.
His hand upholds me in the heart of danger.
Je vivrai pour lui marchant par la foi,
I will live for him walking by faith
Le Dieu de victoire habite en moi.
The God of victory lives in me

I’m just going to focus on the third line. What does it mean to walk by faith? Maybe I should break it down more… What is faith? In Hebrews we find the definition of faith. “Faith is being sure of what we hope for. It is being sure of what we do not see.” (Hebrews 11:1) I know that God is always working in my life whether I can see it or not. So the walking by faith is me continuing to move forward knowing that God is always working and moving in my life and trusting in him through my doubts because I am sure of him even though I can’t see him and all that he does.

I will fear no evil for you are with me. (Psalm 23:4)

One thought on “Victory

  1. And with those words we know He has a place for you to live. And a way for you to return to Lyon. There is no coincidence when it comes to the way God works in our lives. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

