The unbreakable bond

I find it incredibly amazing that God’s grace does not depend on us. I don’t have to afraid of doing something that causes God to take back his gift of life that he has given to me. There was one price that needed to be paid and one sacrifice that satisfied it. (2 Corinthians 5:21) Because Jesus became sin for me and paid the price so I could become perfect in the eyes of God the bond that had been broken between me and God (at the Fall of man) has been restored. And since I have accepted this gift of righteousness I have been adopted into the family of God. (Ephesians 1:4-5) This bond between me and God is strong, and it cannot be broken. (Romans 8:38)

“If we are faithless, he remains faithful — for he cannot deny himself.” (2 Timothy 2:13)

Let’s look at that word faithful. Faithful means 1. True to one’s word, promises, vows, etc. 2. Steady in allegiance or affection; loyal; constant. 3. Reliable, trusted, or believed (according to Dictionary.com). Faithless is the opposite. I am so relieved that God does not work based on my level of faithfulness to him, because I would fail miserably.

P1270237
(Psalm 104:33) I am a child of the King. Nothing will break our bond. So I will sing praise to him for as long as I live because of this wonderful gift he has given to me.

Because I have accepted the gift from God, Jesus, I have been joined to him. (1 Corinthians 6:17) I have become a part of the body of Christ, where Jesus is the head. (Colossians 1:18, Ephesians 4:15-16) The body does not function without its head and the head does not function without its body. Now that’s not to say that Jesus would be rendered powerless if there was no church (the body) but God has chosen to use us to spread the news about him. He has chosen us to present the gift he offers. If Jesus were to deny us (the body) then his death was needless. And not to say that God couldn’t figure out a new way to present the gift, but that’s not how it is. God has called us and he is true to his word therefore to break his word would breakdown his perfection because at that point he would no longer be considered faithful.

As a follower of Christ I can’t deny him. Without him I am nothing. What is the body without a head? … dead. Being faithless does not mean that I deny Jesus: it means that I am human. I have recounted some of the struggles that I have had in my journey here in France. I have described my fears, doubts, and thoughts regarding God and his provision. In a way I would say that doubts and fears could be counted as faithless actions because we say “Lord I trust you,” but we turn around and don’t. We say, “God I will do whatever you want,” and sometimes it takes a lot of pushing to actually listen. These all contradict what it means to be faithful. Now that’s not to say that we are awful people for having doubts, hesitations, or fears, but what it does mean is that we all need a Savior who is perfect and who will not deny us when we don’t remain 100% faithful.

Let’s take a quick look at the life of a prophet, who lived out what I am trying to explain. His name was Hosea. God told Hosea to marry a prostitute as a representation of the relationship between God and the children of Israel. So long story short Hosea’s wife, Gomer, ran away from Hosea back to prostitution and God told him to find her and to love her again. He even had to pay to bring her back to him! And God did the same with his lost “bride”. No matter how unfaithful the children of Israel were, God remained faithful (through punishment.) And I don’t have to worry about the punishment of God because Jesus took that for me, and where we cannot deny the head (Jesus) and Jesus cannot deny the body (the church) God cannot deny his son and the sacrifice that he gave.

God is so deeply in love with us, we cannot even fathom the depths of his love for us. The bond that has been woven between us is unbreakable. God has done everything to make it that way, and even when Israel was unfaithful to him, he was simply waiting to create the unbreakable bond. God outlined his whole plan for us to be his in Hosea.

I will make you my wife forever,
showing you righteousness and justice,
unfailing love and compassion.
I will be faithful to you and make you mine,
and you will finally know me as the Lord.
… I will show love
to those I called ‘Not loved.’
And to those I called ‘Not my people,’
I will say, ‘Now you are my people.’
And they will reply, ‘You are our God!’

(Hosea 2:19-20, 23b)

I was made one with Christ the moment I accepted him and his sacrifice. I am the adopted child of God, the Father, and he is true to his word. He is always faithful to me even when I am faithless. But the bond that we have will never be severed.

He is my God.

One thought on “The unbreakable bond

Leave a Reply

