Free to struggle

I guess my life centers around music because the last few posts have had musical components to them, and this week is no different. This week I was listening to a song by Tenth Avenue North called “The Struggle”. I have listened to this song many times and every time I listen to it the chorus sticks out to me.

“Hallelujah we are free to struggle; we’re not struggling to be free.”

That whole idea that when we have been freed by Jesus, immediately our chains are broken is liberating. The struggle no longer is for life, to break the chains that we were entangled in, but all we have to face are the struggles themselves. Now that is not to make light of the struggles; however, it is to say that through our challenges we don’t need to have fear of their chains.

“So you have not received a spirit that makes you fearful slaves. Instead, you received God’s Spirit when he adopted you as his own children. Now we call him, ‘Abba, Father.’” (Romans 8:15)

 “Now you are no longer a slave but God’s own child…” (Galatians 4:7)

(John 3:16)

God’s ultimate plan was to break our bondage to death (Romans 6:23). Jesus was his way of accomplishing this plan, at least to make it possible for us to be free. The marvelous love of the Father came to us to set us free from a debt we could never pay. It weighed us down, it drowned us in its waters of peril, and it wasn’t until we were washed in the blood of Jesus and shared in his life that we were able to escape the chains we bore.

Chains symbolize limits, imprisonment, burdens… slavery. We all have been constrained by chains, sometimes we may feel like we are still held by them; however, with Jesus we are released from them and no longer need to be slaves bound by chains. God has given us the ability to live as humans: he does not force us to live as robots serving him. We have been given freewill, and with that he has made it easier to live on earth in the sense that by adopting us into his family we don’t have to live on earth with a death sentence awaiting us, but we can live free, in him. My struggle is not to be liberated from death. I can go through life and take everything it challenges me with because I have been set free from the earth’s bondages. I am not a child of the world and therefore am not shackled to its fate.

thumb_IMG_1801_1024
So if the Son sets you free, you are truly free. John 8:36

I have been set free so I can struggle through life with God, knowing that what awaits me is life with him for eternity and that death will not overcome me, rather I will overcome death.

(Ephesians 2:4-6)

(John 5:24)

One thought on “Free to struggle

Leave a Reply

