Wait a second… or fifteen

Patience is something I struggle with. You are all shaking your heads in disbelief, I know, but it’s true. Lately this has been a big point of contention in my life. God has deemed it a necessary time to work on this weakness of mine. Waiting periods are not always the most enjoyable; growing pains are just that – a pain.

Going through these times in life where all that is required is patience has made me see that there are a few different ways that we have to be patient. I would like to focus on two in particular: baking a cake patience and planting a flower patience. Baking a cake patience is a passive patience. You put the cake in the oven and do nothing, but continue on with life until the cake is ready. (Hebrews 6:15)

Then there is planting a flower patience, which I like to describe as more active. One can’t simply place a seed in the ground and leave it expecting something to grow. It needs to be nurtured, watered, and have the weeds pulled so that it can flourish and grow. (James 5:7) Sometimes it takes a while before we see any of the fruit of our labour, or before the flower blooms, but we need to continue to nurture it.

IMG_3671
Luke 12:27-28. God takes great care in composing his masterpiece.

At first I was struggling with which patience process I needed to go through. Now, I’m realizing that it doesn’t necessarily matter if I choose which type of patience I need to have at the moment. What is important is that I continue to pursue God and develop this fruit of the Spirit. (Galatians 5:22) It is not always cut and dry in identifying how I’m supposed to be patient, but serving God is simple.

 “But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.” (Romans 8:25)

There are many verses in the bible that talk about patience. There are many examples. The one thing that they all have in common is this: take a second to slow down. It is important to be able to take things in stride and not in leaps. Yes there are times where leaps will be necessary; however, there are many more times where we need to take just a few seconds to breathe. Learn to treasure the moment you are in and recognize the blessings that God gives.

I like to remind myself of this: God’s timing is always perfect, never late, and rarely early. So I will take the second or fifteen to breathe in and enjoy the moment I’m in because if I try to rush ahead I will end up missing the blessings of today and not be able to appreciate them. Just breathe.

One thought on “Wait a second… or fifteen

Leave a Reply

